Plant-Based Substitutes For Fish Sauce

Vegan Diet
Vegan Diet
Vegan Diet
Vegan Diet

There is a significant rise in the number of vegans in the United States in the past few years. According to some reports, there is a 600 % rise in the vegan population in the United States in a matter of just 3 years. This increase in the number of vegans is mainly due to ethical, environmental, and health reasons. People are opinioned that a plant-based diet is a healthier option when compared to a non-veg diet. Vegan diets provide nutrients to keep us healthy and prevent a wide range of health disorders. The main problem non-vegans face when they are forced to follow a vegan diet for health reasons is the difficulty to let go of their favorite non-veg foods. Fortunately, there is a plant-based alternative for almost all non-veg foods. Here are some of the best plant-based substitutes of fish sauce for those who follow a vegan meal plan.

Soy Sauce

Soy sauce is one of the best and popular alternatives to fish sauce. It is made from fermented soybeans, wheat, salt, and water. The soy sauce is rich in umami flavor due to the presence of amino acids in soybeans. One can freely swap their regular fish sauce with soy sauce in a 1:1 ratio.

Vegan Fish Sauce

The name may be a bit confusing but vegan fish sauce is made from liquid aminos, shiitake mushrooms, and soy sauce. Vegan fish sauce is an ideal choice for those who have a fish allergy or follow a vegan diet. Liquid aminos are usually extracted from fermented coconut sap but it can also be extracted from hydrolyzed soybeans.

Coconut Aminos

It is obtained from fermented coconut sap. And it goes with almost all the dishes. It is rich in umami flavor; together with being dark in color. Coconut aminos are sweeter than soy sauce but still tasty. They are very low in sodium when compared to fish sauce. 90-130 mg of sodium is present in one tablespoon of coconut aminos.

Tamari

Tamari is a different type of soy sauce, which is processed using ingredients like salt, water, and miso paste. Tamari also contains moromi, a type of brine, and koji, a type of fungus. The main difference between the two is that tamari does not contain wheat.

Seaweed 

Together with being a powerhouse of amino acid glutamate; seaweed has a rich nutrient profile. Glutamate is rich in umami flavor. It is an integral part of Korean and Japanese cuisines. It is either used in its dried form or fresh form to substitute fish sauce.